News‎ > ‎

Roscommon Juvenile Badminton League

posted 24 Feb 2011, 12:16 by Connacht Branch Badminton

Blitz #2, 2011 Report

The Roscommon Juvenile Badminton League held its second blitz of this season last Sunday in Loughglynn Community Centre. What a turnout of players we had! 105 juvenile players from clubs throughout the county turned up to compete in this competition.

These clubs being: Ballinaheglish, Ballaghaderreen, Ballygar, Boyle, Four Roads, Loughglynn, Strokestown and Roscommon Town.

Some fantastic games of badminton were played across the various levels. From the start to the finals, from Division 3 to 6, every match was keenly fought for. The scoring in most matches was really close with fantastic finals at the finish.

Congratulations to the winners and all the participants for the great games on the day. Well done also to all the coaches for having all the players so well prepared for the games.

This turnout was way beyond our wildest dreams. When we came up with this idea for developing Juvenile Badminton in the County, we never thought that it would be so successful. Badminton is very much alive and well in Co. Roscommon.

Thank you to all the parents for their continued support and help on the day. Also, thank you to Loughglynn BC for their hospitality and for hosting the competition on this occasion.

The RJBL would like to thank all the players, parents and clubs for turning out in such great numbers for this competition.

Blitz #2 Finalists:

Girls Division 6 Winner --- Cait O’Brien --- Ballygar
Girls Division 6 Runner up --- Amy Kelly --- Loughglynn

Boys Division 6 Winner --- Cathal Treacy --- Four Roads
Boys Division 6 Runner up --- Killean Fleming --- Loughglynn

Girls Division 5 Winner --- Fiona Tully --- Roscommon
Girls Division 5 Runner up --- Louise Regan --- Ballaghaderreen

Boys Division 5 Winner --- Declan Lavan --- Boyle
Boys Division 5 Runner up --- Robert Regan --- Strokestown

Girls Division 4 Winner --- Leah Rowe --- Ballinaheglish
Girls Division 4 Runner up --- Stephi Hannelly --- Loughglynn

Boys Division 4 Winner --- Ronan Cahill --- Loughglynn
Boys Division 4 Runner up --- Gerald McDermott --- Roscommon

Boys Division 3 Winner --- Peter Foley --- Loughglynn
Boys Division 3 Runner up --- James Dolan --- Loughglynn

New Website:

The Roscommon Badminton Association now have their own website on line where you will find loads of information on clubs, competitions, results, photos etc etc. Please check it out:

The next Blitz will be in Strokestown Sports Centre on Sunday March 13th.